top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Bad Weather, Good Mood


Today, my five-year old son asked me if we could play soccer in the back yard. It was pouring outside, so my immediate response was to bring his attention to the fact that it was raining. To my surprise, he was not phased. “Please?” He asked again.


To be honest, I didn’t really want to go outside. I normally love playing in the rain, but I just wasn’t feeling up to it today. I was on the stressed side of life. I had spent most of the morning focused on the things that made me feel disappointed while attempting to get caught up on the tasks I had put aside this week while preparing for our co-op’s spring chorus concert.


From experience, I knew that being outside would change my mentality. There’s just something about being in God’s creation that lifts my spirits and revives my soul. Since I try really hard to learn from my past experiences, I did decide to get the kids dressed and outside. After all, maybe some time playing with the kids in the frigid rain was exactly what I needed.


It didn’t take very long to feel liberated and lighthearted. Our soccer game quickly turned into laughing and splashing in puddles. My daughters spent some time perfecting their recipe for mud soup, while the boys and I chased each other around the yard with buckets. In no time at all we were all soaked and very happy.


While the kids continued to play, I took notice of the stumps in our garden from a couple of bushes the previous owners had cut down. I had attempted to pull them out during the summer, but it was so difficult that I had given up. I thought about how soft the ground was from the rain, and out of curiosity I thought I’d give it another try. I kicked the stump and watched it move. Then I reached down with my hand and, with very little effort, pulled it straight out of the ground. The second one came out just as easily.


With a sense of accomplishment, I looked over at my children who were smiling and laughing, and I couldn’t help but think about how silly it was to not want to be outside today. In that moment, I was quickly reminded of an interaction with our neighbor the evening before and the cliche remark he had made about looking forward to nicer weather. That’s when it hit me how often I wait for good days to be happy. It’s not always about the weather, sometimes it’s about what’s going on in life—the things that overwhelm me or discourage me. Those days could easily be considered stormy, cold, or bitter.


The Holy Spirit quickened me to the verses that I had shared with the high-school seniors the night before.


“Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!” ‭‭(Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭4‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)


“This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.”‭‭(Psalms‬ ‭118‬:‭24‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)


I had told them that we don’t have to wait for a good days to rejoice in what God has made because every day is a gift from heaven. Yet, here I was learning the same lesson that I had just shared the night before. And, isn’t that the truth? In life, I could find myself waiting for the “good weather,” or so to speak, in order to have the joy of the Lord. But, the scriptures clearly tell me to rejoice always.


“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

(‭‭I Thessalonians‬ ‭5‬:‭16‬-‭18‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)


When I chose to fully embrace what most people would consider “bad weather,” I felt lighthearted and carefree—truly joyful. And, the most exciting thing that the Holy Spirit showed me was that the old, bitter roots come out so much easier when I find joy in the “bad” seasons.


There’s a reason why these lessons are repeated in the scriptures.


“Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.”

(Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭12‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


Could it be that healing and restoration are made possible in those moments when I find true joy in the journey? I’d be foolish to say it wasn’t true.


“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.” (James‬ ‭1‬:‭2‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


From here on out, bad weather, whether it’s outside circumstance or internal struggles, will be considered an opportunity for great joy.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page