top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Fear Not, for Mom is with You

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

This afternoon I went upstairs to grab the laundry and finish making the bed (I like to make it first thing in the morning, but sometimes I'm greeted by little people with big needs as soon as I open my eyes). My children followed me up the stairs. They're in a bit of a phase where they like to stay really close together throughout the day. We went into the baby's room and, naturally, I forgot about making the bed.


While we were in my daughter's room, My 2-year old went over to her doorway and stared down into my husband and I's room. The lights were off, so, it was dark in there. He asked me to turn the lights on, and he sounded panicked. I was changing the baby's diaper so I told him I would in a minute. He became frantic. "Mama, turn the light on." And, he repeatedly asked, "Mama, can you turn the light on?"


He thought he saw something and was struck with fear. I've never seen him so terrified before. I tried telling him that Jesus gives us the strength we need to be brave, but he was so terrified that he couldn't even hear what I was saying. I went down into my room and flipped the light on. At this point, my 2-year old was crying. I held him on my bed and I tried calming him down. I tried telling him about the angels that God sends to us to protect us. I tried telling him about the Holy Spirit being our comforter. I tried telling him about God's love casting out fear. But, he had gotten himself even more worked up and he couldn't even hear me. He allowed his fear to mask my voice. He allowed his fear to distance my comfort.


Fear will do that. Fear is crippling. Worry makes me sicksick in the mind and in the body. It will distort the truth and make it difficult for me to hear the voice of the Lord. God knows the power of fear and the stronghold that it creates on His children. That's why He warns against fear and worry so much in His written word. "Fear not!" "Don't worry!"


"Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9)


"For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you,

Do not fear; I will help you." (Isaiah 41:13)


I got so desperate for my son to snap out of it that I called out to him (even though he was right next to me) and yelled his name. I was heartbroken when even calling out to him didn't break through the fear. I called to him again and held him tightly until he finally relaxed enough for me to speak into him and remove the fear.


And, I can't help but ask myself if I ever allow worry, fear, or anxiety to blind me to the Great Comforter, the Holy Spirit. Have I distanced myself from God by choosing fear over His love?


"For God has not given us a spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind."

(2 Timothy 1:7)


God doesn't want me to be crippled by fear. He wants me to be strengthened in His Spirit and in His might. God doesn't want me to hold on to worry. He wants me to hold on to Him. He doesn't want my mind to be overwhelmed with 'what ifs.' He wants me to have a sound minda mind that's clear and whole. He doesn't want me to be defeated by fear. "No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who love[s] us." (Romans 8:37)


I am more than a conqueror. More than. More than a conqueror. Through the love of God, I am equipped with power and a sound mind. And, nothing, absolutely nothing, "...neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate [me] from the love of God..." (Romans 8:38, 39) He is always there. Always, always, there.


In His love I am able to be courageous, bold, and fearless. In His love, I am also able to be a comforter to others who are crippled by fear. He teaches me how to break through the blinding fear and bring truth into view. When I walk in His confidence and power, He equips me to equip others to live without fearto live fearlessly.


I will rest assured in the promise that nothing can separate me from the Love of God. And therefore, I should never be afraid of the things that once called out to me and threatened to separate me from His love. I will not fear death. I will not fear life. I will not fear angels nor demons. I will not fear the past, the present nor the future. I will not fear any earthly authority or government or power. I will not fear the heights nor the depths, nor anything else in all of creation: earthquakes, famine, hurricanes, blizzards, fire, flood, or tornadoes! I will not fear. And, if anything comes my way to tempt me into fear, I will put my hope and my trust in God.


"When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise— in God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?" (Psalm 56:3,4)


When I allow love to replace fear, then God's revealing light chases away the shadows. The light shines on the the things that, in blinding fear, looked like something that was out to get me or destroy me. The light shows me that there is nothing to fear. The light of truth reveals what is falseit removes the falsehood—it removes the lies. "The Life-Light blazed out of the darkness; the darkness couldn’t put it out." (John 1:5) The darkness could never, ever put it out.





59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page