top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Follow Mom’s Instructions


Raising young children requires perpetual instruction. I have four children, ages 2-7, and I give frequent reminders on behavior, manners, and actions through out the day. Obeying directions can be tricky at times, so I do my best to follow up with my kids on the requests I have made.


I wasn’t feeling well today. My energy was low and my follow-through was severely lacking. While helping the children with their homeschool studies, my 5-year old son left to use the restroom. I asked him to start his math with me next, and proceeded to help my oldest with his work while my youngest son went downstairs to relieve himself. After several minutes, my 4-year old daughter rushed in and told me that my 5-year old had broken a very expensive gift that I had left on the kitchen countertop. It was something that required assembly. Normally, I would have gotten it together and ready to use on my own, but I needed help to do it. I was waiting for my husband (who was at work) to help me with it. My son wanted to be helpful, and he attempted to set up the gift on his own. Yet, it was too difficult to do on his own, and he ended up breaking the gift beyond repair.


I cried, but not over the gift. I was mourning the fact that my son did not heed my instructions. I had told him the night before that we needed to wait for Daddy’s help, yet in that moment he thought he could do it in his own strength.


“And so, my children, listen to me, for all who follow my ways are joyful. Listen to my instruction and be wise. Don’t ignore it.” (Proverbs‬ ‭8‬:‭32‬-‭33‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


“Those who listen to instruction will prosper; those who trust the Lord will be joyful.” (Proverbs‬ ‭16‬:‭20‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


When I give my children instructions it’s because I want what’s absolutely the very best for them. I want to shower them with blessings and watch them flourish in their life. Following godly instructions is one of the most important deciding factors in having a joy-filled life. Obedience brings joy. Disobedience brings sorrow.


But, sorrow isn’t always a negative thing. My heart was saddened, but so was my son’s. He was upset and apologetic. He even prayed and asked God to fix the gift. His sorrow brought him into an attitude of repentance.


“As it is, I rejoice, not because you were grieved, but because you were grieved into repenting. For you felt a godly grief, so that you suffered no loss through us. For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death.”

‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭7‬:‭9‬-‭10‬ ‭ESV‬‬


After taking the gift out to the garage, I sat down with my son to talk about what had happened. I explained the importance of listening and following directions. His response was “I just don’t know how to!” In which I responded, “I will help you.”


The kids and I sat down to do our family devotions, and the entry was about Noah. While I was reading the devotions, something very important stood out. The writer said that all of Noah’s family and the animals were saved because Noah obeyed God and followed His instructions.


I have studied the account of Noah multiple times, but never before had I considered how difficult it may have been for Noah to obey God. Noah was the only righteous man on earth. That alone would tempt me into discouragement. Then God asks Noah to build a gigantic arc to prepare for a flood. That would tempt me to feel incapable—that following His instructions would be impossible. But, those kind of thoughts and that kind of sorrow leads to death. Noah didn’t have an attitude of “I can’t.” Instead He obeyed God’s instructions.


“Noah did this; he did all that God commanded him.” ‭‭(Genesis‬ ‭6‬:‭22‬ ‭ESV‬‬)


God didn’t just give Noah a command to build the arc. He gave Noah thorough instructions on exactly how to do it so that every life on board Noah’s boat would be saved.


“Whoever heeds instruction is on the path to life, but he who rejects reproof leads others astray.” (Proverbs‬ ‭10‬:‭17‬ ‭ESV‬‬)


God’s Word is full of instructions—instructions that I am called to follow. Obeying God’s word not only brings joy into my life, but it creates opportunities for others to be saved. Noah’s ability to follow God’s instructions saved his family and the human race from destruction. Christ’s obedience made a way for all souls to receive salvation and eternal life. It makes me wonder what my obedience will produce…


“For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so also by one Man’s obedience many will be made righteous.”

(Romans‬ ‭5‬:‭19‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)


Every time the situation feels hopeless and daunting I want to remember this lesson—this irreplaceable gift from the Holy Spirit. It cost loosing a physically expensive gift, but I pray that my children will also remember the treasures we uncovered in the process. Obedience is better than sacrifice (1 Samuel 15:22), and a heart of repentance leads to joy.


And, I don’t ever have to take on an attitude of “I can’t” because God is faithful to give me all of the instructions I need. He is faithful to see me through.


“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.” ‭‭(Psalm‬ ‭32‬:‭8‬ ‭ESV‬‬)


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page