top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Follow The Leader


Since moving into our new home, one of the things that we really enjoy doing together as a family is going for walks through the neighborhood. Recently we were out walking and I noticed how uneven the sidewalk was in a particular part of the neighborhood. My sons were navigating through cracks and bumps as they played “Follow the Leader.” My 3-year old was on the heels of his older brother and was closely following in his footsteps. He was so close, I’m not even sure if he could see where he was going around his older brother’s head. Then it happened. My 5-year old tripped and stumbled over the raised concrete. And, before I could even respond, my 3-year old did the Exact. Same. Thing.


After realizing they were okay, I giggled at the fact that they literally did the same thing—same place, same foot, same maneuver. It was like watching a reel on repeat.


Then the Holy Spirit started whispering in my ear, talking to me about who and what I follow.


I replayed the image of my sons in my head. I could see it now. My youngest was putting his trust in his older brother and blindly following in his footsteps. He wasn’t questioning or discerning for himself, and it caused him to stumble in the same manner as his leader.


I started to think about all of the people I admired, learned from, and was fed from: family, friends, godly leaders, worship artists, news anchors, pod casts hosts, and social media influencers. Was I following with discernment or was I being led blindly?


Okay, so sometimes it’s obvious. Sometimes I know exactly what and who not to follow. But, sometimes it’s not so clear. Somethings seem harmless and helpful.


I could feel God speaking into my soul.


“‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship is a farce, for they teach man-made ideas as commands from God.’ ...so ignore them. They are blind guides leading the blind, and if one blind person guides another, they will both fall into a ditch.” (Matthew‬ ‭15:8-9, 14‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


I quickly recalled a conversation my husband and I had years ago about worship music. My husband was telling me about a worship artist he followed on social media. He was disappointed with some of the things the artist was openly doing and saying that weren’t very godly examples of how to live. And, it was very disappointing. He didn’t want to listen to their music anymore either. But, these were songs that really ministered to him, to us. I felt the Holy Spirit moving on me while I worshiped to these songs. Now, they felt tainted. They felt ruined. I started to spiritually stumble by questioning God’s anointing.


They stumbled, and because we were following too closely, we stumbled too. But, if I had just kept my eyes on God and followed Him to where He was leading me, I wouldn’t have stumbled in the same place someone else had tripped.

People fail. But, God never does. It’s that plain and simple. Good people fail. Godly people fail. I fail. But, God never does.


When I follow people too closely, I will fail. But, I’ll remain firm and confident in my faith when I follow God.


“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him.” (Psalm 37:23 ESV)


“It is the Lord your God you must follow, and Him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.”(Deuteronomy 13:4 ESV)

When I’m following God closely I can see His anointing more clearly. I can recognize His goodness and His glory all around me. I can separate His constant faithfulness and unfailing love from the inconsistent commitments and unfaithfulness of sin.

Remember that music we wanted to toss years ago? That was God breathed. It opened the door for a Holy moment between me and the Father. But, the person who wrote it is just a person. And, certainly not a perfect person. But, thankfully, God uses imperfect people to reveal His glory. The important thing for me to do is recognize that the people that God uses...well, they aren’t Him. They can reflect His goodness. They can exemplify His unfailing love. They can speak to me on behalf of the Father. But, they CAN NEVER and WILL NEVER replace Him. I have to be lead by God, and God alone.


“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25 ESV)


And, that’s the difference between following God and following Godly people. When I’m focused on people, I’m not aware of my surroundings (or, should I say His surroundings?). I’m reliant on them to lead me on the path set before me—to point out the direction I should go, the decisions I should make, the books I should read, the clothes I should wear, how to love my spouse, how to parent my children, how to act, how to talk, where to shop, where to live, what to listen to...and then I’m surprised when things don’t go as planned—as God planned. It’s because I’m not following God’s plans! Ah! Face-palm!


“Show me the right path, O Lord; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you.” (Psalms‬ ‭25:4-5‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


God, I want to follow You and where You lead me. I want to be aware—aware of Your Spirit, aware of Your glory, and of Your goodness.


When I walk with God my sight is clear. My vision is clear. I can see His Holy Spirit at work in my life and in the life of others. And, I can learn from God through other people without idolizing them.

Jesus said “I am the way... No one comes to the Father except through me.’” (John 14:6 ESV) He didn’t say “I am the way, but you can also get to God by following so-and-so.” There’s just one way. There’s just one leader.


“So be very careful to act exactly as GOD commands you. Don’t veer off to the right or the left. Walk straight down the road GOD commands so that you’ll have a good life...” (Deuteronomy‬ ‭5:32-33‬ ‭MSG‬‬)


No one else can lead me the way Jesus can. No one else can lead me the way the Holy Spirit can. No one else can lead me the way God the Father can. He’s the only one worth following closely. He’s the only one worth imitating. He’s the only one who will lead me to Salvation. Only Him.

“Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God...Carefully determine what pleases the Lord...Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.” (Ephesians‬ ‭5:1-2, 10, 17‬ ‭NLT‬‬)


“Blessed are all who fear the Lord, who walk in obedience to him.” (Psalm 128:1 ESV)



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page