top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Get Out of Mom’s Way

My 2-year old has this habit of creating obstacles that tend to get in the way of what he wants. I’m not really sure he knows what he’s doing when he’s doing it, though. It’s not like he’s trying to be difficult or prevent something good from happening...he just does.

Okay, so for instance, when he asks me for a drink he’ll stand right in front of the refrigerator and refuse to move. Then he gets mad at me if I try to move him to get him what he asked me for in the first place. Or, when he comes up to my room first thing in the morning, closes the safety gate at the top of the steps, and then come to tell me that he wants to go down stairs. It s

eems so counterproductive, I know. But, I honestly don’t think he realizes what he’s doing.

It really makes me wonder how many times I get in God’s way. I mean, how many times have I asked God for something and then stood in His way? Am I the reason why the fulfillment of my prayers is delayed? Am I working with God or am I creating an obstacle for myself?

I’m sure that most of the time, when this happens, I have no idea I’m working against what I would actually like to see accomplished. Like, the 10 of 12 spies that went into the promise land and came back with a bad report (Numbers 13)...did they know they were standing in their own way? Did they know that their testimony was going to make it so that they would never ever be able to dwell in the land that God promised to their ancestors? I’d like to think that if they had known, they wouldn’t have made a fear-filled decision. They would have made a faith-filled one.

But, how many times do I feel like I’m accomplishing God’s will in stubbornness when, in fact, nothing is actually being accomplished. If God asks me to move. I want to move! I want to get out of His way. Or, better yet, I want to be working in His ways!

See, if I’m thinking more about what I want, what I’ve prayed for, my good intentions, or how I’m going to take action than actually allowing God to work, then I‘ve become an obstacle. And, there‘s a possibility that I may postpone something good from happening. I mean, “There is a path before each person that seems right, but...” (Proverbs‬ ‭14:12‬) I'll let you fill in the blanks.


The good thing is, that whatever God wants accomplished will be accomplished. And, nothing will happen that isn’t approved of by God. “He shall open, and none shall shut; and He shall shut, and none shall open.“ (Isaiah 22:22) Ultimately, God will have His way. But, I definitely don’t want to be the reason why His promises are delayed.

“If you want to live well, make sure you understand all of this. If you know what’s good for you, you’ll learn this inside and out. GOD ’s paths get you where you want to go. Right-living people walk them easily; wrong-living people are always tripping and stumbling.” (Hosea‬ ‭14:9‬)

I have to be in tune with my Father. I have to be listening for His direction. I have to move when He says “move,” and I have to stand firm when He says, “stand!” I have to know His ways. They are loving and full of truth!


All the paths of the Lord are lovingkindness and truth, for those who keep His covenant and His testimonies.” (Psalms‬ ‭25:10‬)


Ah, Father God, I just want to be in alignment with You--with Your ways, Your love, and Your truth!

"Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths.Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long." (Psalm 25: 4,5)





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page