top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Honey, Mommy’s Driving

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

The other day I was driving the kids somewhere, and my 3-year old started crying. He had dropped whatever toy he was playing with and wanted me to get it for him. “Mommy, can get it when we stop, honey,” I replied to his desperate plea. “But, why?” was the response.

I told him it wasn’t safe for me to get it while I was driving. He didn’t quite understand what I meant. Normally he understands what I tell him. He has understanding way beyond his years, but the intensity of the situation blinded him to reason. He just wanted one thing, and that was his toy.


This kind of situation happens a lot in the car. My boys will ask for a book, or they’ll ask for a snack, or they’ll ask for a drink of water. And, every time they ask me for something I have to tell them I can’t help them until we stop and it’s safe.


Timing is everything. Doing something good, like helping my children, at the wrong time could cause a catastrophe. If I had tried to reach my son’s toy while I was driving I could have put their lives, and my own life, at risk. It wouldn’t have been worth it to give him exactly what he wanted exactly when he wanted it.


Yet, for some reason when I ask God for something I expect Him to get to work right away. And, when He doesn’t do what I want Him to, my faith wavers. I start to question my relationship with God and whether or not I’m “in tune” with His Holy Spirit.

It’s funny because, just like my children, I have tunnel vision on my surroundings. The thing I want becomes my focus. So much so that I don’t understand why I need to wait for God to help me.


His word clearly tells me to wait:


“Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” (Psalm 27:14)


“Yet, those who wait on the Lord will gain new strength.” (Isaiah 40:31a)


“Therefore be patient...until the coming of the Lord” (James 5:7a)


Sometimes being patient can be really difficult, especially when I feel desperate. But, I have to remind myself that I can’t see what God sees.I don’t know where He’s taking me or what’s going to happen along the way. So, I have to trust Him. I have to trust that He knows best, and I have to trust in His perfect timing.


“But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day. The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness...” (1 Peter 3:8-9a)


God doesn’t operate on the same timeline as I do. So, when I think God is taking forever to answer my prayers and requests, I have to remind myself that He is infinitely sovereign. He is “the alpha and the omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end” (Revelations 22:13). He knows my requests before I ever ask them (Matthew 6:8). And, He knows just when to enact His perfect plan so that everything works out for good.


And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)


On this beautiful journey that I travel with God, I have to let go of worry. I know He’s in control. I know His ways are so much higher than mine (Isaiah 55:8-9). The best thing that I can do is commune with the driver—talk to Him, get to know Him more, and praise Him. He’s not going to forget my requests or my needs. But, it sure isn’t going to hurt me to set my mind on Him. Instead of focusing on the things I need or the things I want, I will focus on the one who’s in control of it all and trust fully in Him.



58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page