top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Humility and Justice for All!



“It’s not fair!” My five-year old pouted during a game of cards. Meanwhile, his older brother cockily celebrated a small victory at his younger brother’s expense. The tension heighted, but the game continued. The boys took turns singling the other out, using their cards as weapons against each other. I wanted to end the game, but for the sake of my 4-year old daughter and my 2-year old partner I decided to wait and see how things played out.

 

My 4-year old was the first to discard all of her cards, officially winning the game. We kept on playing. My 5-year old was second to victory. Then my toddler co-player and I finished next, leaving my 7-year old with a hand full of unused cards and quite the temper.

 

“I’m never playing this game again,” he shouted adding on that he only likes to play when he wins. I could tell the sentiment was shared with my 5-year old too, and I had enough. Games are supposed to be fun, not outrageously stressful. So, I called all of the kids over to me.

 

“Do you know what Jesus says about being first?” I asked. My 7-year old was on the right track when he told me the first will be last and the last will be first (Matthew 20:16), but I had something else in mind. I pulled up a passage from Mark chapter nine.

 

“…And when He was in the house He asked them, ‘What was it you disputed among yourselves on the road?’ But they kept silent, for on the road they had disputed among themselves who would be the greatest. And He sat down, called the twelve, and said to them, ‘If anyone desires to be first, he shall be last of all and servant of all.’” (Mark 9:33b-35 NKJV)

 

Just like my two boys, the disciples were arguing over first place. They wanted to know who would be the greatest in Heaven, but what they didn’t understand was that being first in Heaven has a completely different meaning than being first on earth. While humans continually fight and compete for high places of honor, God looks for humility and servitude.


This wasn’t the only time Christ taught about humility either. In Luke fourteen Jesus gave another lesson on being first:


“He went on to tell a story to the guests around the table. Noticing how each had tried to elbow into the place of honor, he said, “When someone invites you to dinner, don’t take the place of honor. Somebody more important than you might have been invited by the host. Then he’ll come and call out in front of everybody, ‘You’re in the wrong place. The place of honor belongs to this man.’ Embarrassed, you’ll have to make your way to the very last table, the only place left. “When you’re invited to dinner, go and sit at the last place. Then when the host comes he may very well say, ‘Friend, come up to the front.’ That will give the dinner guests something to talk about! What I’m saying is, if you walk around all high and mighty, you’re going to end up flat on your face. But if you’re content to be simply yourself, you will become more than yourself.” (Luke 14:7-11 MSG)

 

During the Sermon on the Mount Christ said,

 

“Blessed are the humble, for they shall inherit the earth…” (Matthew 5:5 WEB)

 

When I read this verse I think of all of the pompous and proud leaders this world has had over the course of history. However, I know that Jesus isn’t talking about this earth. He’s talking about a new earth.


“Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth,” for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:1-4 NIV)


During this life, God is teaching me how to become the Bride of Christ—a co-heir with Jesus of what’s to come. Seeking out fame and recognition is only going to put me further and further away from where I need to be. The only way to truly win is to intentionally place myself in a position of servitude. That’s what God desires.

 

The same week I taught my children this lesson, God tested me. After my fourth pregnancy, it became quickly apparent that my capacity for life also changed. I needed to step down from my involvement with the music school that operates out of our home church. It wasn’t an easy shift, but it was a necessary one. A few months later, God opened the door for my husband and I to take on a cleaning position at the church. I truly believe that music is part of my life’s calling on this earth, but God needed to teach me something different—humility.

 

Fast-forward to last week, and you’ll find me sitting in an audience by myself with four rowdy children, attempting to watch a recital. After five trips to the bathroom, a disruptive temper tantrum from my toddler, and quite a few “Stop wrestling!” moments, I decided it was time to call it a night. I packed the kids up and headed out before the performance ended.

 

On Sunday I got to hear how well the recital went. It was a radiant success! The staff was doted on and praised for their above-and-beyond efforts and a wonderful evening. Meanwhile, I couldn’t even manage my own children.

 

The day after I found myself cleaning the church building. My children ran up and down the halls of the empty space while I picked gum out of a sink drain, scraped chocolate out of the rugs, and wiped urine off the bathroom floor.


“I know you have me here for a reason.” I talked to God while I worked. I missed working towards showcasing talents, the excitement of performance, and the recognition that came afterwards. Tempted to feel sorry for myself, I decided to ask God why He had me where I was. I wanted to listen. I wanted to really learn.

 

Immediately the Holy Spirit reminded me of the lesson I taught my children several days before. The words from a song I sang during a childhood performance poured out of my mouth while I swept the floor.

 

“Isn’t it amazing the way He came?

No crown, no throne, no big parade

There were no fanfares played,

No jubilant display.

Isn’t it amazing how He came?”

–The Way He Came by Truth

 

My heart contemplated the words as I sang. Jesus, the King of kings, came meekly to this earth—as a humble servant. He never demanded recognition or riches. He didn’t seek after fame. He was truly the greatest example of love. He laid down all selfish human ambitions and willingly gave His life for my Salvation.

 

“Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.” (John 15:13 NKJV)

 

God is teaching me how to lay down my life, my desires, and my ambitions for the sake of my family and friends—to take on a heart of servitude, a supportive role, and learn what it means to be authentically humble. It’s only through humility that God’s people will receive an eternal reward with riches far greater than anything this world could ever offer. And, I have a feeling that it will be unlike anything I could ever hope for or expect.

 

“Humility is the fear of the Lord; its wages are riches and honor and life.” (Proverbs 22:4 NIV)

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page