top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Mama, I'm hungry.

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

I was running late for an appointment the other day. The timing of my morning wasn't really working out the way I had hoped that it would. My 1-month old needed to nurse, but I didn't have time to nurse her before I left. I thought I would just do it when we got to where we were going. I quickly put the pacifier in her mouth, but she clearly didn't want it. She was hungry--hungry for the real thing.


Lately I feel starving--starving for something real. To be real. To know truth. To basque in the essence of authenticity. Like my daughter, I don't want to be pacified by something else. I want to be satisfied with truth.


When it comes from drinking from the well of life, I don't ever want to choose something else to pacify my thirst. I don't want to choose anything over what truly satisfies. Nothing can replace communion with God. Entertainment only pacifies. Social-media only pacifies. Sports and exercise only pacify. Shopping only pacifies. These things are not eternal, and will not truly satisfy my hunger for truth. They won't feed my soul the way that it needs to be fed. Time and time again, when I cry out in hunger the world hears me weep. Society rushes to force the pacifiers in and calm my searching heart. All the while, God is standing there ready to give me a drink of living and eternal water.



"Jesus answered, 'Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.'" (John 4:13-14)


None of my children have ever been pacifier babies. My daughter is the first one whose even given the pacifier a chance. My first born never, ever, ever wanted to use a pacifier. Now, don't get me wrong, I know using a pacifier can be helpful and necessary at times. I don't think they're evil. Trust me. But, I always was proud of the fact that my babies only wanted the real thing.


I have realized though, that in a spiritual sense, it becomes hard for people to tell the difference between the things of this world that pacify and the things of God that satisfy. That's where addictions find a home. It becomes easier to run to something that will pacify a need. These are the things that temporarily bring happiness. These are the things that temporarily relieve loneliness or stress. These are the things that give a high of emotions, but then send those emotions running in a frenzy.


Only God can satisfy. Only God. He brings true joy. He heals loneliness and gives me peace.


"For He has satisfied the thirsty soul, And the hungry soul He has filled with what is good."

(Psalm 107:9)

"Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

(Matthew 5:6)



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page