top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Mom of My Word

Updated: Feb 21, 2020

I like to think I'm an independent person. I can accomplish tasks well when flying solo. Group projects...well, that's a whole other story. To be honest, I'm not a huge fan of them. Don't get me wrong, group projects can go really well when everyone stays on task and works efficiently. The kind of group projects that I don't like are the ones that are supposed to be a group project, but they end up being a solo project. Or, when someone says they're going to get something done, and then half of a year goes by before you realize it's really not going to happen. No one likes being left out to dry. Everyone always seems to work together better when we all do what we say we'll do.


Follow through--it can be tough. I know, I'm a mom. The other night my oldest left children's church with a balloon. His teacher asked me if it was ok for him take it home, and I said yes. I wasn't anticipating him following his younger brother around, and constantly bopping him on the head with said balloon. The first time it happened my little one actually laughed so I thought nothing of it. The second time it happened my little one didn't think it was so funny. First warning issued. Then it happened again. Second warning issued with a consequence of loosing the balloon. And, even still, my oldest decided it would be funny to do it again. So, the balloon was taken away. He apologized with his big blue eyes and asked for the balloon back. Cue mom guilt, and lay it on heavy. Oh, I wanted to give it back so badly. I mean, he apologized AND asked nicely. But, I knew that I needed to keep my word. I needed to teach my son that Mommy has follow through.



You see, if I want my children to be able to work well with others they have to understand follow through. They have to know how to respectfully do their part, and they have to know that it hurts others when they don't do what they should. Which means, I have to set the example. I have to show them that I am a mom of my word. Empty threats and false promises aren't going to teach my children anything good. These things will only teach them to have a lack of commitment, not to trust people, and how to lie. The worst part is, when I'm not a mom of my word, not only do my children learn bad character traits, they also learn that it's acceptable to have bad behavior.


This whole thing has me thinking a little bit harder about the commitments I make and for a couple of reasons. One, I want to be able to actually do the things that I say I'll do. And, two, I want to do those things well. Talk about pressure! But, this isn't the kind of pressure that makes me shut down. This is the kind of pressure that makes me rise to the task.


Colossians 3:23 says, "Whatever you do, work at it with your whole being, for the Lord and not for men..." When I think about this verse I'm reminded that the things that I commit to are for God's glory. Which means if I'm doing something I don't really want to do, I need to have a good attitude, and it needs to be done unto God with a heart of worship. I can't be mumbling under my breath, or rolling my eyes, or complaining to someone else about how unfair it is. If I told someone I would help them, even if it ends up being on my only free night of the week, I have to do it and I need to do it with the right attitude.


"But let your 'Yes' be 'Yes' and your 'no' be 'no'..." These are the famous words from Matthew 5 warning against empty promises. And, they really are words to live by. I want to say what I mean and mean what I say. I want to be accountable and dependable to others. I want people to know they can trust me to do my part. I don't want to be the person that acts up, acts out, or drops out and leaves everyone else scrambling to finish what I started. I want my kids to trust me and know that I am always full of truth.


"He who speaks the truth declares what is right, but a false witness speaks deceit. Speaking rashly is like a piercing sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. Truthful lips endure forever, but a lying tongue lasts only a moment. Deceit is in the hearts of those who devise evil, but the counselors of peace have joy." Proverbs 12:17-20



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page