top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Mom’s Will Be Done

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

The boys have been really cute lately with trying to help out around the house. They especially love to help with their little sister. Anytime she cries, they immediately run to her rescue. It’s been genuinely helpful, especially when they make her laugh or bring her a blanket. Only...they don’t always offer the best rescuing services.

Sometimes it results in more harm than good. Like when my 3-year old tries to pick up his little sister and only grabs onto her onesie. Or, when my 23-month old tries to hug her but ends up laying on top of her face.


If they had just asked me what to do first before doing anything they could have avoided potential harm. But, they thought they knew what to do. I mean, they’ve seen me take care of her, and they probably thought they were just doing what Mommy does. But, alas! Even good intentions can lead to negative outcomes.


Yesterday my mom was teaching my boys a lesson on seeking guidance from God. The point of the lesson was: when you don’t know what to do first stop, then ask God what He wants for you to do, and finally trust and obey.


I’ll say it again. Good intentions can can lead to negative outcomes, especially when those intentions are not what God intended.


Sometimes I have a really good idea, and instead of seeking God first, I’ll just go ahead and do whatever it was I was thinking about. Those are usually the ideas that fall flat or end up hurting me more than helping me. But, I didn’t mean for it to go south...it just did. And, now I have to own up to my mistake.


Thankfully God is “gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.” (Psalm 145:8) And, He forgives. Freely. “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)


When I do things on my own will my actions have the potential to lead myself and others astray. But, when I ask God what He wants first, listen to what He tells me, and follow in His will, then the outcome will be life and life abundantly.


Even Christ prayed to God “not my will, but Yours be done.” (Luke 22:42) In these moments a deeper trust has to form. I have to fully trust that God’s plans are better than mine. But, how can I not trust Him? He’s a God full of infinite wisdom and unconditional love. His will is so much better than mine.

So next time I find myself wondering what to do, I should first stop, then ask and listen, and finally trust and obey. It’s the best way to live. And, following the will of God will always, always lead to good.

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28)






57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page