top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

The "Mine" Monster

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

"Mine" has become the most dreaded word in my household. It has caused so many unnecessary fights and tantrums. Both of my children use it, and both of them use it often.


My oldest just had a birthday party last week, and along with his birthday party he received some pretty cool gifts. These gifts, especially a beloved garbage truck, are also pretty cool to his little brother. My youngest has developed a "grab and run" tactic when it comes to sharing toys. This action is usually paired with the triumphant announcement, "MINE!" (Cue the mom sigh in preparation of what's to follow.) My oldest retaliates by racing over to his little brother, snatching the toy from his hand, and screaming his rebuttal, "NO, MINE!" And, so begins the Mine War.


Now, don't get me wrong when I say it, but sharing is hard. I've had this conversation with my mom friends before because it's ironic that adults expect their kids to share all of their prized possessions with all of their friend, heck, strangers even. Yet, as an adult I'm definitely not so quick to hand over something of mine that I feel is precious or valuable. How can I expect my kids to understand the benefits of sharing and giving if I don't practice what I teach?


So, what now? Do I use the hypocritical parental phrase of, "do what I say and not what I do? Or, do I do my best to lead by example in word and in action? I already know it should be the latter.


In Luke Chapter 3 John the Baptist was approached with a similar question: "The crowds asked him, “What then should we do?” John replied, 'Whoever has two tunics should share with him who has none, and whoever has food should do the same.'"


And, the excuses start to flow....But, come on, I've been saving that shirt that I don't really like just in case there's an occasion that requires me to wear something like that...I might still need it some day, right? Wrong. I'm just holding on to it. Maybe for selfish reasons, maybe for sentimental reasons, but either way I'm holding on to something that could benefit someone else.


This past year I've decided I was going to be better about donating my clothes and giving them away. Honestly, it's pretty sickening how many clothes I had that I wasn't using. Bags and bags, and bags and bags of clothes. I thought I had a good reason for holding on to them. I mean, over the past few years my body has changed so much. I've been pregnant, postpartum, nursing, not nursing, then pregnant again, and I've experienced so many versions of myself through it all. I've been holding on to clothes because I don't know what's going to fit and what's not going to fit. I was worried that if I got rid of things I would end up needing them again in the future.


But, Jesus said, "“So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need." (Matthew 6:32-33)


So, why would I hold on to something I think I might need tomorrow when someone else could use it today? I can't help but think about when God provided the Israelites with manna in the dessert. If they took more than what they needed (you know, just incase they maybe might need it for the next day) the food spoiled and became infested with maggots. Ew. A blessing can become a curse when it's hoarded or kept for selfish gain.


Paul references this instance from Exodus 16 in 2 Corinthians 8. He says, "Right now you have plenty and can help those who are in need. Later, they will have plenty and can share with you when you need it. In this way, things will be equal. As the Scriptures say,

'Those who gathered a lot had nothing left over, and those who gathered only a little had enough.'"


When we honor God and trust in Him, He provides for us. We have exactly what we need when we need it--no matter what we give away or share with others. Even in what feels like the most desperate times of my life God is always there taking care of me.


I remember as a little girl my parents being really open to my brothers and I about going through some hard times financially. The miraculous part of it all is that we always had what we needed. Someone would anonymously drop off groceries or leave us a gift card to the grocery store. I don't think they knew how badly we needed the help, but their generosity and willingness to share what they had helped our family make it through. Time and time again God has shown His faithfulness through other people's willingness to give.


Since I've experienced what it's like to be on the receiving end, I always wonder what it would have been like if the "Mine Monster" would have prevented others from helping my family out. It really puts things into perspective for me as a giver and a sharer too. I don't ever want to be so attached to something--a material thing--that I can't be the one that helps someone else get through a difficult time.


So, yeah, sharing is tough. But, what good does it do me not to share? Just like an over abundance of mana, aren't I just allowing myself to get spoiled and to feel rotten? I just need to trust. I need to trust that if I give to someone in need and share what I have with others that I will never be found lacking.


"For the LORD your God has blessed you in all that you have done...the LORD your God has been with you; you have not lacked a thing."' (Deuteronomy 2:7)




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page