top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

Under Construction

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

My oldest son points out construction vechiles and trucks everywhere we go. Now, anytime he's not with me I still notice all of the mighty machines around me. I never realized how many cement mixers and mobile cranes I passed on the way from point A to point B before. But, now I seriously can't help it. It's like my eyes are naturally drawn to them. It doesn't matter if they're in the on-coming traffic or parked in a lot off to the side. I notice them.


Before my son was born excavators and bulldozers weren't exactly on my list of favorite things. Any time I came across a work zone during my travels I wouldn't be thinking about how incredible the road pavers were. I was thinking about the inconvenience it was causing me. I was looking for alternative routes. I was trying to avoid something that now is so precious to my son.


My two-year old isn't only amazed by these machines, he's curious about how they work and what they do. He wants to learn more about them, and in response, so do I.


It's amazing how you can under-appreciate something for so long in your life, and it takes someone else to show you why that something is so important. My house wouldn't exist, for one, without those vehicles. I wouldn't have a solid foundation, or a basement, or a roof. I wouldn't have a paved driveway or a road to drive on either.


Sometimes I feel like the same scenario applies to God and the Holy Spirit. People don't always notice God. But, if I keep pointing out the amazing things He does, than maybe they will start to notice Him in their lives too. They won't want to take the detours anymore because they'll be so excited to learn about His goodness through the journey of life.


I know I'm not always as bold as I should be about pointing out God's goodness. I must admit, sometimes I'm worried about sounding overly "Christian." There are so many people in my life that have been hurt by people who have carried that title with pride, and I don't want to add to the bad taste in their mouths. But, God, the real true God--the God of love and mercy and grace--isn't someone to be ashamed of.


When Christ gave us the "Great Commission" He intended for us to be "...proclaiming the kingdom of God and teaching the things concerning the Lord Jesus Christ with full boldness and without hindrance." (Acts 28:31) This can be a difficult thing to do. Especially when I feel like I have to make an effort to teach others about God or forcefully open their eyes to His goodness. The thing is, that's not how I've been called to speak of His goodness. God wants me to be unashamed in my love for Him, not trying to make other people love Him. If I just openly talk about what matters to me and point out the way God speaks to me throughout my own life than I will be giving a testimony that others remember. They will remember in my countenance. They will remember in my attitude. They will remember in my passion. They will remember in my love. They will remember in my kindness. They will remember. When I'm not around anymore they'll still notice He's there.


And, just like I've lived in a house for all my life and have never considered the builders who made my dwelling place, people will start to notice their Creator--the very one who gave us a heart that beats and lungs that breathe and a mind that thinks.


When I give God my foundation and I don't avoid him in my life He keeps me strong and firm. He keeps me safe and protected. When my life is "under construction" I still have a firm foundation. ("The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock." Matthew 7:25) Others will notice my peace in the storm. Others will notice my grace to the hurting. Others will notice my love for all people. And, they will remember.


So, now, I ask God to help me be bold, and that He helps me be strong. And, I will also pray for others to have the courage to proclaim the goodness of Christ.

"Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, divine utterance may be given me, so that I will boldly make known the mystery of the gospel." Ephesians 6:19



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page