top of page
cleveland-31.jpg

READ. RENWEW. REFRESH.

As you read about my relationship with God and my motherhood experiences, I pray your mind feels renewed, your body feels refreshed, and your spirit feels rejuvenated. 

Scroll Down

Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Erika

When Grace Abounds


We’re potty training our 20-month old, and she’s actually doing really well. Sometimes she’ll tell us when she needs to go, and then sometimes she’ll just take herself to the bathroom. Even when she has an accident, she’ll announce it and scurry off to the bathroom to finish. But, there was one day this week she just didn’t even care. Like, didn’t care. At. All.


I found her lying in a puddle of pee under the table playing with her toys as if nothing happened. Accident after accident was happening and she really didn’t care. I got so frustrated with her. To be honest, I really didn’t handle it very well. I started yelling at her when she had an accident. It felt like she was making it personal. It felt like she was doing it to spite me. Meanwhile, my heart was reminding me that she’s only 1-year old, and she definitely was not trying to purposefully make my day so much harder.


But, nonetheless, I went on and complained to my husband about how spiteful she was being. While I flapped my yap, I realized that she wasn’t in my line of sight anymore. Oh great. She probably went off to have another accident. I’m sure.


I walked around the house. I couldn’t find her. But, as I passed by the bathroom door I noticed two little feet sticking out from behind the sink vanity. She was sitting on her toddler potty going number two.


My mood changed quickly from frustration to happiness. I was so proud of her. She took herself to go. And, number two even! I hugged her and told her how much I loved her. Then the conviction hit me. Why wasn’t I able to extend my love while she was having accidents?


My heart aches to think about it. I was a jerk. I had zero grace. I had zero empathy. I had absolutely no patience. Honestly, what kind of a monster-mom was I behaving like to think that grace, patience, and love were things that needed to be removed while she was messing up? When in that moment, those were the things that she actually needed the most! And, how many times do I do this to other human beings? How many times do I remove grace, patience, and love when it’s vitally needed? Whoa. My spirit groans.


As a child I was taught to memorize John 3:16. “For God so lovedthe world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”(NKJV) But, now as an adult, I wonder why I was never taught to memorize the following verse: "For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved." (John 3:17 NKJV) This second verse hold such an important truth as to why God sent HIs Son, Jesus Christ, to earth. It was to save sinners. It was NOT to condemn sinners. And, who am I to think I should do anything other than what Christ, the Son of God did?


Christ’s purpose on this earth was not to remove grace. It was to extend it—to grow grace—to save by grace.


“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.” (Ephesians 2:8 NIV)


In chapter 8 of the book of John, there’s this beautiful account of Christ extending grace to a woman who had been caught in the act of adultery. The scribes and Pharisees wanted to make a spectacle of her. They wanted to judge her harshly according to the law. But, when Christ responded and revealed to them that no one who had come to judge her was without sin, the woman’s accusers left.

“…He said to her, ‘Woman, where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?’She said, ‘No one, Lord.’ And Jesus said to her, ‘Neither do I condemn you…’”(John 8:10, 11a NKJV)


It’s not that Christ couldn’t judge her for her sins; it’s just that judgment wasn’t His purpose on earth.

“You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one. And yet if I do judge, My judgment is true; for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent Me."

(John 8:14,15 NKJV)


Again, His purpose on earth wasn’t to condemn. It was to save by grace. The Apostle Paul wrote about this radical change from Old Testament law and judgment to New Testament love and grace in Romans chapter 5.


“Now Adam is a symbol, a representation of Christ, who was yet to come. But there is a great difference between Adam’s sin and God’s gracious gift. For the sin of this one man, Adam, brought death to many. But even greater is God’s wonderful grace and his gift of forgiveness to manythrough this other man, Jesus Christ. And the result of God’s gracious gift is very different from the result of that one man’s sin. For Adam’s sin led to condemnation, but God’s free gift leads to our being made right with God, even though we are guilty of many sins. For the sin of this one man, Adam, caused death to rule over many. But even greater is God’s wonderful grace and his gift of righteousness, for all who receive it will live in triumph over sin and death through this one man, Jesus Christ.


Yes, Adam’s one sin brings condemnation for everyone, but Christ’s one act of righteousness brings a right relationship with God and new life for everyone.Because one person disobeyed God, many became sinners. But because one other person obeyed God, many will be made righteous.


God’s law was given so that all people could see how sinful they were. But as people sinned more and more, God’s wonderful grace became more abundant.”

(Romans 5:14b-20 NLT)


Yes. Where sin abounds grace much more abounds. At least, that’s how it should be. But, when I’m acting in accordance to the flesh I’m led by law and sin. I’m quick to judge others. I’m quick to remove grace. Yet, when I live in accordance to the spirit—when I live a life like Christ—I live a life full of grace led by love and patience. It’s a grace that is given freely (Ephesians 1:6), and a love that covers a multitude of sins (1 Peter 4:8).


“Grace, grace, God's grace Grace that will pardon and cleanse within Grace, grace, God's grace Grace that is greater than all our sin


Marvelous, infinite, matchless grace Freely bestowed on all who believe You who are longing to see His face Will you this moment His grace receive?”


(“Grace that is Greater” by Bart Millard)

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


Home: Welcome

Subscribe Form

Home: Subscribe
bottom of page